top of page

Writing Music with an MMT-8

This evening I am back in my studio kicking around ideas and have connected my first sequencer, the Alesis MMT-8, to handle MIDI sequencing duties. I have been using the MMT-8 Sequencer for over 25 years now. It is a simple MIDI sequencer which pretty much does straight forward recording without the technical headaches which can happen when using a computer to run a DAW. There are a couple of things that do hinder the use of the MMT-8 (these can be overcome) and that is it has a small amount of memory (aftertouch and bender movements eat up a lot of space) and you have to save data via MIDI to a storage device. The MMT-8 has 8 tracks which allow you to bounce to other tracks as needed. It is a pattern based sequencer so you can take your different recorded parts and place them in a song mode in any order and copy them many times. Writing music is pretty efficient especially if you are like me and just play your music performance directly into a recorder without step sequencing. The MMT-8 does not do step sequencing which I do not mind or miss because I prefer to record what I am playing on the keyboard. Editing is done through menus and button presses. Sometimes I may go in and tweak a note or remove controller data I do not want. Even to this day with some limitations compared to modern DAWS I still prefer to use hardware to make music. I am planning to use the MMT-8 on my new project for 2016-2017 and cannot wait to see what old vibe I can conjure up from my personal past music making experiences.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page