top of page

Music and Art

Music and Art have been a part of my life since I was very young. Both are intertwined to me. I have been blessed to have had the opportunity to to do both professionally and for fun. This past week I visited the National Gallery of Art and the Hirshhorn Museum in Washington D.C.. The West Building at the NGA was open but the East Building was closed for renovations. I find myself still moved by the art of masters from the past. Modern and Post Modern art have always made me appreciate the work of the masters even more. When I attended Virginia Commonwealth's School of the Arts in the Early 90's I had a professor that I really enjoyed. His name was Richard Carlyon whom I had for a couple of my visual art classes. I remember one subject that we explored was deconstruction. I deconstructed a songbook. I created an actual box that opened like a book. I fashioned it out of wood and fabrics and built four music boxes into it that resonated inside the front of the book. It was a gaudy looking thing inspired by my idea of Victorian things. on the inside I had lyrics of very old songs (that have slipped my mind after 20 years) and small plastic skeletons in the mix. A goth acquaintance of mine wanted that thing so bad. I did not give it to her. That was good stuff back then and I really enjoyed Richard Carlyon as a person and as my visual arts professor.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page